September 27, 2013
KRABBY PATTIES!!!!

So, I have not posted anything to this blog in forever, BUT, when I saw these in the store, I felt the need to make this a post. Before I became Muslim, I would eat these, and, then 

I stopped because I knew that they contained gelatin. I also assumed that the “bread” and “meat” were made from marshmallows, which are predominately made with pork derivatives in the United States. HOWEVER, the company that makes these (can’t remember who) has been nice enough to include the type of gelatin in its list of ingredients: beef. 

I love everything gummy if you haven’t noticed yet, and these hold a special place in my heart since they remind me of my late nephew, who loved everything Spongebob. This pack is being sold for Halloween, and it comes in really cool colors besides the usual tan “bread” and pink patty. I hope you find these in your local store. I became so excited. I included pictures with this post that were taken by my little sister because they were just so pretty to me. :) Sweets make me happy. What can I say???

June 29, 2013
Things in My Life

Asalamu alaikum rahmatullahi Wa barakatu. I began this blog because I love sweets, but there are so many ingredients in them that we really don’t think about. I still want to pursue this blog. Anyone who began following, please know that I’m still here, but when you are going through personal things, it’s hard to focus on other things. Those instances have taken precedence over my writing and investigating, and when everything is settled, and my life is back in order, I will be back. I just wanted to tell you that. Thank you.

January 5, 2013
Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts

Asalamu alaikum. May the peace and blessings of Allah be upon all of you. I had planned to post this entry way earlier, but I promised my mom that I would clean up for her today (visiting in Mississippi):therefore, I had to put this post on hold. 

In the last post, I talked about gelatin, but I was specifically referring to gummy candies. Gelatin, believe it or not, is also present in Pop-Tarts. Yes, animal by-products are used to make your beloved breakfast treats and/or snacks chewy and irresistible…at least for some of you. This information is not readily available on the Kellogg’s website, so I sent an email to my friend, Idalia (a Kellogg’s consumer specialist), asking her about what types of gelatin are present in their Pop-Tarts. The reader did not ask about this particular brand, but, being that it is the only major brand—aside from their stale and generic, store brand counterparts—here in the U.S., I assumed that this was the brand she was referring to.

Anyway, the Kellogg’s Frosted Pop-Tarts contain beef gelatin while the Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts contain no gelatin at all. As she put it, “the pre-gelatinized wheat starch that is present in some of pour toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.” You’re wondering what “pre-gelatinized wheat starch” is, I’m sure. I was thinking the exact same thing. According to Livestrong.com, the gelatinization process begins when the wheat starch is heated, breaking the starch’s hydrogen bonds. The heat (without exceeding 212 degrees Fahrenheit) pulls water out of the wheat starch, and as the water decreases, it becomes thick—working in the same way as corn starch or flour does when added to a liquid over heat. Therefore, it is safe to say that the Plain Kellogg’s Pop-Tarts are also vegetarian-friendly.

If I missed any other brands, please feel free to send me your questions, so that I can call, email, or mail them for you. Also, now that I have graduated (Yay! lol), I will be posting regularly, so I will get back to you A.S.AP., as I know being without your sweets, snacks, and indulgences can be daunting, especially if you don’t know what’s in them.

Links:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/512730-what-is-gelatinized-wheat-starch/

January 2, 2013

sknsaara-deactivated20130412 said: what about pop tarts??

That will be my next entry. Look for it Friday morning. Thanks for your question.

May 11, 2012
GUMMIES!!!

Asalamu alaikum. Peace be unto you. As you can tell by all the caps in my title, I LOVE gummy candy. The problem that my favorite candy indulgence gives me is the fact that most are made from gelatin, and most gelatin is derived from pork. Before I eat anything, I like to know exactly what I’m eating. I read the backs of packages making sure that pork is not an ingredient. You may do the same, but the word “gelatin” does give you much to go on, so you probably rip that pack open and munch away. I know some of you are wondering what gelatin is, so without giving you a science lesson (a subject that I am no expert in), I will give you a little background on gelatin.

Gelatin is used as a thickening agent in candies and other sweets. It is flavorless and colorless and is usually a by-product of meat. This is why meat-derived gelatin is most commonly used, but there are others. There is microbial gelatin (an artificially manufactured type), fish gelatin (found in kosher gummies), beef gelatin, and pork gelatin. Pork is the most commonly used because it is the cheapest. Therefore, if you find a pack of gummy candy with gelatin as the ingredient, it is safe to assume that it may be a pork derivative.

HOWEVER, before you get sad and depressed and punch your computer thinking all the world is lost, I have found gummies that we can eat. Haribo’s gummies are amazing. They have two packs that we can eat worry-free: Haribo Gold-Bears and Haribo Raspberries. These two types are manufactured in Turkey and imported here in the U.S. Just in case Haribo decides to come out with other lines from Turkey, check any packages coming from that location because they only make halal. We can also eat Sour Patch (all kinds), Swedish Fish, and Betty Crocker fruit snacks—all of which contain pectin (a fruit-derived thickening agent similar to gelatin). This is not an all-inclusive list of halal gummies. Therefore, if there is a brand that you love but don’t see listed, let me know, and I will investigate for you.

These are a few popular brands that we CANNOT eat:

Life Savers

Starburst Gummibursts

Haribo (the non-Turkey manufactured lines)

Trolli (most, but not all)

These are some of the most locally available brands, but there are others. While I cannot think of everything, please feel free to send me your questions, and I will be happy to call, email, and hound them about the ingredients in their products for you.

"If we do not know that this thing is haraam, either from a clear statement [in the Qur’aan or Sunnah] to that effect or because it comes under a general shar’i prohibition, or by proper analogy that dictates that it is haraam, then it is halaal. This is the basic principle concerning food, drink, clothing and customs." -Sheikh Muhammad Salih Al-Munajjid 

Links:

http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?hl=en&sl=de&u=http://www.trolli.de/&ei=r7jKTJjYLsqw4Abs0vTcDA&sa=X&oi=translate&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CCIQ7gEwAA&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dtrolli%26hl%3Den%26safe%3Dactive%26rlz%3D1T4GFRE_enGB317GB317%26prmd%3Ds

http://www.haribo.com/planet/us/info/faq.php

http://www.vrg.org/blog/2010/12/30/new-formulation-skittles-are-gelatin-free-starbursts-gummibursts-contain-non-kosher-gelatins/

http://halalist.wordpress.com/2008/05/12/wrigleys-haraam-products-list/